Homesick for the Neighbor’s Home

Image

In 2010, I left my country for the first time in over two decades to spend a little over ten months in South Korea, particularly in the province of Cheonan, as a foreign exchange student. I was with five other people who are now very close friends of mine and though our experience was far from struggle and problem-free, we all certainly had a blast and since then, Korea has held a special place in my heart. Most of the space in there probably.

Image

We plan on going back there in 2015 and I can’t wait. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to meet our Korean friends because we’re supposed to be somewhere we’ve never had the chance to go to–Busan, if I’m not mistaken–but I’m looking forward to just being in that beautiful country with its awesome scenery and delicious food and lovely people. I’m not sure, though, if I’m ready for the heartache once I have to leave it again. Ten months had not been enough, so what more if we stay there for just one week? I can imagine that it’s like picking at a wound that hasn’t truly healed.

Image

Two years ago, I decided that the endgame of my life would be South Korea. I want to study, live, and work there despite the language barrier (which I am continuously working on, by the way). It’s not that I don’t like my country; I just like Korea a little bit more. Kidding. Kind of.

Image

If I don’t end up in Korea for one reason or another, it’s alright. At the very least I would like to be able to travel there often and to keep getting better in Korean. That country has given me such wonderful memories to look back on. Oh, Korea, you have mesmerized me so, you son of a bitch.

Image

Leave a Reply

